KEWEENAW COUNTY
5095 4th Street
Eagle River, Michigan 49950


 
 
Eagle River Keweenaw Mountain Lodge Lizzadro Preserve
Eagle River
So named after the many eagles observed by the voyageurs, Eagle River, thrived in the 1850's when copper was king and the "Cliff Lode" and other mines nearby required a shipping port.
CLICK FOR DETAILS BELOW
Keweenaw Mountain Lodge
Once called "Potter's Folly" after Ocha Potter who envisioned building a golf course in the wilds of Keweenaw, is now affectionately called the "Jewel of the Keweenaw."
CLICK FOR DETAILS BELOW
Lizzadro Preserve
The Joseph & Mary Lizzadro Lakeshore Preserve is located at Dan's Point on Highway M-26 between Eagle Harbor and Copper Harbor with a premier view of Lake Superior.
CLICK FOR DETAILS BELOW
     

The Keweenaw Mountain Lodge and Golf Course Complex, which opened on June 23, 1935, was conceived and constructed during the Great Depression years of the 1930's. One of hundreds of public works projects sponsored by the federal government at that time, unemployed copper miners were re-employed to clear the land on which the Lodge and its golf course now reside. The trees that were cut were used to construct the main lodge and

 

guest cabins. These hand hewn log structures have been carefully preserved for almost 70 years, and are a rare and unique step back in time. Copper Harbor lies one mile north by car on US41 or at the far end of the walking trails leading from the Lodge. The newly added conference center adds a 280-person event facility. For more information, please visit:
www.AtTheLodge.com

 
The Joseph & Mary Lizzadro Preserve is highlighted as a high quality bedrock plant community in the Michigan Natural Features Inventory Study of Bedrock Shorelines. The 24-acre parcel features boreal and mixed hardwood forests, lowland swamp, bedrock glade, and a bedrock and cobble beach along 643 feet of undeveloped shoreline on Lake Superior. Several small islands just off shore are included. The primary goals of the project are to protect sensitive Lake Superior shoreline from development, to increase public awareness of the need to protect such   areas through on-site education and to provide for noninvasive public access to Keweenaw's north shore, which is dominated by private ownership. The Preserve is owned by the Houghton Keweenaw Conservation District  and has a conservation easement held by the Keweenaw Land Trust. Grant funds were provided by the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality. For more information, please visit:
Houghton Keweenaw Conservation District
 

Eagle River became the county seat in 1861 followed by the building of a courthouse in 1866. Even after remodeling in 1925, the formality of the courthouse, preserved in its original appearance, attests to the prosperity of the mining era. The sheriff's residence and jail followed in 1886. Even today, the sheriff's family lives in a pleasant home attached to the jail and prisoners enjoy the good food prepared by the sheriff's wife. Bridges straddling the

 

Eagle River are favorite stops to view the vast expanse of Lake Superior on one side and, on the other side, splendid trees with a cascading waterfall. The bridge built in 1915 was converted to pedestrian use when the adjacent timber bridge opened 1990. Primarily made glue-laminated timber arches, the new bridge aesthetically blends into the surrounding environment and was an ideal choice for such a scenic location.

 

HOME | Keweenaw County | Offices & Departments | Commissions | Township Officials | Meetings & Minutes | Calendar & News | Links | Contact Us

 

For content edits/corrections, please e-mail here.

Web site development:
opusWeb.com